Showing Up for Oneself

sitting in discomfort with the woman in the mirror

antisocial butterfly
6 min readSep 24, 2024

Throughout the past year, I feel as though I gradually became more open to allow pain in to be an accomplice rather than something to hide or push away.

However, with my usual tendency to block out weighted sentiments as such, when I finally gave their presence a warm welcome of grace, these sentiments flooded my heart, as they’d grown vastly desperate to be acknowledged.

In turn, I acted in desperate ways myself, shameful, and hurtful as well…towards others, yes, but more so towards the woman in the mirror.

Photo by aranprime on Unsplash

Exhausted of this elongated battle, my heart has merely ached for a moment of closure, which firstly began with forgiving myself and accepting what was/had passed.

As humans, I find that we often act in turbulent ways when we are being neglected of one of our three basic needs: satisfaction, pleasure, and/or connection.

In retrospect, my lack was in the department of connection.

Within connection, we often find a handful of necessities for our wellbeing: comfort, some level of certainty, support, vulnerability, empathy/compassion, and a safe space to simply embody the messy aspects of being human.

--

--

antisocial butterfly

avid writer inspired by nature, daydreams, & sentimentality