finding yourself

getting directions home

antisocial butterfly
3 min readSep 16, 2024

As someone who’s had an instable sense of self for a majority of my life, “finding myself” was always the treasure chest I’ve ceaselessly sought, whether that be throughout books, across the world, or, worst of all, within others.

However, it wasn’t until I completely lost myself was I truly able to understand the authentic essence of the woman in the mirror.

This, firstly, required me to take some time for myself and learn to enjoy my own solitude.

I chose solitude for several reasons, one being that I realized I wasn’t too fond of the company I surrounded myself by nor the person I embodied because of this.

I wanted to be different, I wanted to expand and truly understand the potential I held within.

Amidst my solitude, I was dealing with something deeply challenging, so much so that I ended up losing myself.

Atop all the pain and distress, what made it all more weighted was looking in the mirror and seeing nothing but a stranger; I never felt so alone in my entire life.

One day, I was more upset over all simply because I didn’t feel like myself…and I started to wonder, well, I never really knew myself to begin, so how could I miss something I didn’t quite know?

--

--

antisocial butterfly

avid writer inspired by nature, daydreams, & sentimentality